Library

For more of the Library, click here: My Bookshelf

Chaos Monkeys
by Antonio Garcia Martinez
INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER An NPR Best Book of the Year “Incisive.... The most fun business book I have read this year.... Clearly there will be people who hate this book — which is probably one of the things that makes it such a great ...
What I Learned Losing a Million Dollars
by Jim Paul
Jim Paul's meteoric rise took him from a small town in Northern Kentucky to governor of the Chicago Mercantile Exchange, yet he lost it all--his fortune, his reputation, and his job--in one fatal attack of excessive economic hubris. In this ...
The Black Swan
by Nassim Nicholas Taleb
Startling, Profound And Universal, The Black Swan Will Change The Way You Look At The World. For Nassim Nicholas Taleb, Bestselling Author Of Fooled By Randomness, Black Swans Underlie Almost Everything, From The Rise Of Religions, To Events In ...
Fooled by Randomness
by Nassim Nicholas Taleb
Fooled by Randomness is a standalone book in Nassim Nicholas Taleb’s landmark Incerto series, an investigation of opacity, luck, uncertainty, probability, human error, risk, and decision-making in a world we don’t understand. The other books in ...
How Will You Measure Your Life?
by Clayton M. Christensen
From the world’s leading thinker on innovation and New York Times bestselling author of The Innovator’s Dilemma, Clayton M. Christensen, comes an unconventional book of inspiration and wisdom for achieving a fulfilling life. Christensen’s The ...
The Hard Thing About Hard Things
by Ben Horowitz
Ben Horowitz, cofounder of Andreessen Horowitz and one of Silicon Valley's most respected and experienced entrepreneurs, offers essential advice on building and running a startup—practical wisdom for managing the toughest problems business ...
The 5 Elements of Effective Thinking
by Edward B. Burger
The 5 Elements of Effective Thinking presents practical, lively, and inspiring ways for you to become more successful through better thinking. The idea is simple: You can learn how to think far better by adopting specific strategies. Brilliant ...
Negotiating the Impossible
by Deepak Malhotra
Some negotiations are easy. Others are more difficult. And then there are situations that seem completely hopeless. Conflict is escalating, people are getting aggressive, and no one is willing to back down. And to top it off, you have little ...
Creativity, Inc.
by Ed Catmull
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER | NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The Huffington Post • Financial Times • Success • Inc. • Library Journal From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, the ...
When Breath Becomes Air
by Paul Kalanithi
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to ...
Made to Stick
by Chip Heath
BONUS: This edition contains an excerpt from Chip Heath and Dan Heath's Switch. Mark Twain once observed, “A lie can get halfway around the world before the truth can even get its boots on.” His observation rings true: Urban legends, conspiracy ...
Mindset
by Carol S. Dweck
Now updated with new research—the book that has changed millions of lives After decades of research, world-renowned Stanford University psychologist Carol S. Dweck, Ph.D., discovered a simple but groundbreaking idea: the power of mindset. In ...
The End of Power
by Moises Naim
We know that power is shifting: From West to East and North to South, from presidential palaces to public squares, from once formidable corporate behemoths to nimble startups and, slowly but surely, from men to women. But power is not merely ...
Decisive
by Chip Heath
The four principles that can help us to overcome our brains' natural biases to make better, more informed decisions--in our lives, careers, families and organizations. In Decisive, Chip Heath and Dan Heath, the bestselling authors of Made to ...
The 4-Hour Work Week
by Timothy Ferriss
A new, updated and expanded edition of this New York Times bestseller on how to reconstruct your life so it's not all about work Forget the old concept of retirement and the rest of the deferred-life plan - there is no need to wait and every ...
Make It Stick
by Peter C. Brown
Discusses the best methods of learning, describing how rereading and rote repetition are counterproductive and how such techniques as self-testing, spaced retrieval, and finding additional layers of information in new material can enhance learning.
Pitch Anything: An Innovative Method for Presenting, Persuading, and Winning the Deal
by Oren Klaff
Gold Medal Winner--Tops Sales World's Best Sales and Marketing Book “Fast, fun and immensely practical.” —JOE SULLIVAN, Founder, Flextronics “Move over Neil Strauss and game theory. Pitch Anything reveals the next big thing in social dynamics ...
Waltzing with Bears
by Tom DeMarco
This is the digital version of the printed book (Copyright © 2003). If There’s No Risk On Your Next Project, Don’t Do It. Greater risk brings greater reward, especially in software development. A company that runs away from risk will soon find ...
Peopleware
by Tom DeMarco
Few books in computing have had as profound an influence on software management as Peopleware . The unique insight of this longtime best seller is that the major issues of software development are human, not technical. They’re not easy issues ...
The Jordan Rules
by Sam Smith
The New York Times Bestseller, Now in eBook Format and Updated With a New Introduction This is the 20th anniversary of the explosive bestseller that changed the way the world viewed one of the greatest athletes in history, revealing for the first ...
Relentless
by Tim S. Grover
An award-winning trainer draws on experience with such top athletes as Michael Jordan, Kobe Bryant and Ken Griffey, Jr. to explain how to tap dark competitive reflexes in order to succeed regardless of circumstances, explaining the importance of ...
Born Standing Up
by Steve Martin
Steve Martin has been an international star for over thirty years. Here, for the first time, he looks back to the beginning of his career and charmingly evokes the young man he once was. Born in Texas but raised in California, Steve was seduced ...
Getting to Yes
by Roger Fisher
The key text on problem-solving negotiation-updated and revised Since its original publication nearly thirty years ago, Getting to Yes has helped millions of people learn a better way to negotiate. One of the primary business texts of the modern ...
The Signal and the Noise
by Nate Silver
One of Wall Street Journal's Best Ten Works of Nonfiction in 2012 New York Times Bestseller “Not so different in spirit from the way public intellectuals like John Kenneth Galbraith once shaped discussions of economic policy and public figures ...
Thank You for Arguing
by Jay Heinrichs
An introduction to the fine art of rhetoric explains how this important skill can profoundly influence one's success in one personal and professional life, using contemporary examples to illuminate classical rhetorical strategies and revealing ...
The Personal MBA
by Josh Kaufman
Master the fundamentals, hone your business instincts, and save a fortune in tuition. The consensus is clear: MBA programs are a waste of time and money. Even the elite schools offer outdated assembly-line educations about profit-and-loss ...
Crossing the Chasm
by Geoffrey A. Moore
Here is the bestselling guide that created a new game plan for marketing in high-tech industries. Crossing the Chasm has become the bible for bringing cutting-edge products to progressively larger markets. This edition provides new insights into ...
Thinking in Java
by Bruce Eckel
An overview of the programming language's fundamentals covers syntax, initialization, implementation, classes, error handling, objects, applets, multiple threads, projects, and network programming.
Data Structures & Algorithm Analysis in C++
by Clifford A. Shaffer
A comprehensive treatment focusing on the creation of efficient data structures and algorithms, this text explains how to select or design the data structure best suited to specific problems. It uses C++ as the programming language and is ...
How Google Tests Software
by James A. Whittaker
Describes the techniques Google uses to test their software, and offers similiar techniques for analyzing risk and planning tests, allowing an Internet company to become more productive.
How We Test Software at Microsoft®
by Alan Page
It may surprise you to learn that Microsoft employs as many software testers as developers. Less surprising is the emphasis the company places on the testing discipline—and its role in managing quality across a diverse, 150+ product portfolio ...
How to Win at the Sport of Business
by Mark Cuban
Mark Cuban shares his wealth of experience and business savvy in his first published book, HOW TO WIN AT THE SPORT OF BUSINESS. "It's New Year's resolution time, and Mark Cuban's new book offers the rationale for a good one." —BUSINESS INSIDER ...
Insanely Simple
by Ken Segall
To Steve Jobs, Simplicity was a religion. It was also a weapon. Simplicity isn’t just a design principle at Apple—it’s a value that permeates every level of the organization. The obsession with Simplicity is what separates Apple from other ...
"Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman!": Adventures of a Curious Character
by Richard P. Feynman
A New York Times bestseller—the outrageous exploits of one of this century's greatest scientific minds and a legendary American original. Richard Feynman, winner of the Nobel Prize in physics, thrived on outrageous adventures. Here he recounts ...
The Art of Being Unreasonable
by Eli Broad
Revealing how his unreasonable thinking has helped him build two Fortune 500 companies, a billionaire entrepreneur and philanthropist shares his unorthodox methods for achieving success.
The Winner Within
by Pat Riley
A game plan for team players in every arena of life--business, family, sports--uses examples from the life of the great basketball coach to show how any group can combine strengths and talents and be successful. Reprint.
Sacred Hoops
by Phil Jackson
With a new introduction, Phil Jackson's modern classic of motivation, teamwork, and Zen insight is updated for a whole new readership "Not only is there more to life than basketball, there's a lot more to basketball than basketball." --Phil ...
Harder Than I Thought
by Robert D. Austin
Meet Jim Barton, new CEO of Santa Monica Aerospace. Jim's job won't be easy: the company's hemorrhaging cash, struggling to regain investors' trust after an accounting scandal, and striving to transform its military and manufacturing culture to ...
The Alchemist
by Paulo Coelho
Paulo Coelho's enchanting novel has inspired a devoted following around the world. This story, dazzling in its simplicity and wisdom, is about an Andalusian shepherd boy named Santiago who travels from his homeland in Spain to the Egyptian desert ...